Senator Roberts Announces Service Academy Nominations


WASHINGTON, D.C. — U.S. Senator Pat Roberts (R-Kan.) today announced that he nominated 41 Kansas students for an appointment to one of the U.S. Service Academies for the class of 2024.

“As a Marine, I’m pleased to nominate this outstanding group of young men and women to our nation’s service academies,” Senator Roberts said. “I am especially proud to see so many young Kansans seeking to serve in our nation’s military.”

In making the nominations, Senator Roberts followed the recommendations of his Academy Screening Board. The nonpartisan board is comprised of seven volunteers from across Kansas and is overseen by Gilda Lintz, Senator Roberts’ District Director and Military Academy Coordinator in Topeka. As part of the decision-making process, board members conduct personal interviews with the applicants, as well as review their written applications, G.P.A. and standardized test scores.

Once nominated by Senator Roberts, the applicants then must meet the individual admission requirements of each academy. The academies will make the final decisions on who will receive an appointment of admission. Due to the limited number of openings at each academy, not every nominee will receive an appointment. The academies will announce appointments this spring for the class entering in July 2020. Senator Roberts’ nominees are as follows:

United States Air Force Academy – Colorado Springs, CO

Michaela Birkholz, Wichita

Zachary Bollinger, Hesston

Samantha Cornwell, Wichita

Kyle Kramer, Manhattan

Cameron Maltz, Park City

Pierce Saturday, Lawrence

Cody Savage, Leavenworth

Tyler Simms, Olathe

Emily Spurling, Eudora

Quintin Wright, Stilwell

United States Naval Academy – Annapolis, MD

Juan Pineda Gomez, Lenexa

Eli Holloman, Topeka

Jessica Kelling, McPherson

Jack Mickelsen, Topeka

Anthony Moon, Overland Park

John Stanley, Chanute

Drew Starbuck, Colby

James Stubbers, Overland Park

Georgiana Wilhelm, Wichita

Quintin Wright, Stilwell

United States Military Academy at West Point – West Point, NY

Samuel Baldwin, Andover

Jayden Bess, Wilson

Timothy Foster, Leawood

Terah Graber, Wichita

Eli Holloman, Topeka

Joshua Kim, Overland Park

Bradley Libel, Wathena

Alexander Liebelt, Overland Park

Joseph Purvis, Ft Leavenworth

Cierra Ransom, Topeka

Ryan Rast, Stilwell

Arron Russell, Wichita

Pierce Saturday, Lawrence

Sophie Scrivner, Andover

Steven Scrivner, Andover

Luke Seigel, Leavenworth

Crew Squires, Derby

John Stanley, Chanute

Drew Starbuck, Colby

Brady Weathers, Wichita

United States Merchant Marine Academy – Kings Point, NY

Zachary Bollinger, Hesston

Terah Graber, Wichita

Ronald Heminway, Kingman

Jessica Kelling, McPherson

Aaron Lamson, Derby

Avery Lawson, Shawnee

Bradley Libel, Wathena

Aaron Schifman, Topeka

Jessica Taylor, Wichita

Grant Treaster, Newton

Senator Roberts will begin accepting applications in March for nominations to academy classes entering in July 2021. Applicants wishing to find out more information on the process for nominations should visit Senator Roberts’ website.


Related Posts



No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment
Already Registered? Login Here
December 2, 2020
If you'd like to register, please fill in the username, password and name fields.

By accepting you will be accessing a service provided by a third-party external to

How long should Kansas schools continue remote education?
Many Kansas students are taking their lessons online from home. But this is causing some parents to struggle with child care, and many wonder if the isolation from peers is more harmful than the risk of covid. Should schools stay remote to slow the s...
89 Hits
0 Replies
Posted on October 14, 2020

Stay Connected!

Follow Free State Kansas!

Cron Job Starts